Covid-19 Country-Specific Information: LATVIA

Entry and Exit Requirements:

Latvian authorities are implementing the following EU Commission’s recommended restrictions:

  • Restrictions from entering Latvia from outside the European Union remains in place.
  • EU passport holders are allowed entry, including residents of Schengen countries, plus Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway, Romania, Switzerland, Ireland and the UK. Non-EU passport holders with EU permanent residence permits may enter Latvia.
  • Currently, residents of the following countries are permitted to enter the EU:  Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay. This list is updated every two weeks by the EU and can be found here.
  • If you reside in the EU or one of the 14 countries, you may enter Latvia.

If you are not in one of the categories above, you cannot enter Latvia. 

This means you are banned from entering Latvia for non-essential travel, which includes tourism and studies, unless you have an EU passport or meet the very narrow exceptions detailed in the next bullet*. The EU Commission determines who may enter the EU based on epidemiological data. 

*Exceptions to the travel ban include spouses or minor children of Latvian nationals, long-term residents, members of government delegations and passengers in transit.

For information on border openings and entry/exit requirements for countries within the European Union, please visit

We inform you that this site uses own, technical and third parties cookies to make sure our web page is user-friendly and to guarantee a high functionality of the webpage. By continuing to browse this website, you declare to accept the use of cookies. Learn more about our use of Cookies by viewing our Privacy Policy.